• czb.ro
Byte. Jazz Byte

The Passengers

Publicat in: 26.10.2017, 06:28AM
Autor: Richard Constantinidi
Comentarii: 0
Vizualizari: 116
Etichete: The Passengers
The Passengers"One of the essential groups to emerge from the nineteen-eighties East Village scene, the Jazz Passengers celebrate their thirtieth anniversary with the release of a bighearted, satirical new record, “Still Life with Trouble.” The band’s origins can be traced to the pit of the Big Apple Circus, where its founders, the saxophonist Roy Nathanson and the trombonist Curtis Fowlkes, forged a lifelong friendship and a musical collaboration that soon led to a stint with their like-minded downtown predecessors the Lounge Lizards. The Passengers’ new album, like its previous efforts, is marked by a central contrast: breezy, comic vocals mingling with beautiful, unpredictable melodies and abstract harmonies that suggest an underlying seriousness. This show features most of the stellar original band members, including Bill Ware, on vibraphone, and E. J. Rodriguez, on drums and percussion, but the core of the group’s sound is still the warm interplay between Nathanson’s frenzied sax solos and Fowlkes’s groove-filled trombone lines."

- The New Yorker, March 24, 2017
Facebook Twitter MySpace  

Lasa un comentariu: (max. 1800 caractere)

Nume:   Antispam:  

Niciun comentariu!

Articole relative:

2018.JUN.12. Jazz Journalists Association's 2018 Jazz Awards
2018.JUN.12. Jazz Journalists Associat...
Publicat in: 26.05.2018, Ora: 06:50AM
NEW RELEASE. Antonio Gómez. Lights, Camera, Version!
NEW RELEASE. Antonio Gómez. Lights, C...
Publicat in: 22.05.2018, Ora: 06:19AM
NEW RELEASE. Willie Oteri. Dark Matter Horns
NEW RELEASE. Willie Oteri. Dark Matter...
Publicat in: 18.05.2018, Ora: 06:16AM
NEW RELEASE. Greg Burrows. Tell Your Story
NEW RELEASE. Greg Burrows. Tell Your S...
Publicat in: 14.05.2018, Ora: 06:10AM
2018.MAY.7. 2018 Jazz Awards
2018.MAY.7. 2018 Jazz Awards...
Publicat in: 10.05.2018, Ora: 06:08AM
Acasa | Contact | Disclaimer | Blog | RSS Feed • CLICKZOOMBYTES © 2010-2018 • Revista De Muzica Online