• czb.ro
Byte. Jazz Byte

21st annual Jazz Awards

Publicat in: 06.07.2017, 06:41AM
Autor: Richard Constantinidi
Comentarii: 0
Vizualizari: 140
Etichete: 2017 Jazz Awards, Jja, The Jazz Journalists Association
21st annual Jazz Awards

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced winners of its 21st annual Jazz Awards, celebrating 41 categories of excellence in music and music journalism. Pianists reign, with 78-year old McCoy Tyner celebrated for his Lifetime Achievement in Jazz, 13-year-old Joey Alexander hailed as Up and Coming Musician of the Year, Kenny Barron (73) named Pianist of the Year, the late Bill Evans’ Some Other Time: The Lost Session from the Black Forest (Resonance Records) winning as Historical Recording of the Year, Robert Glasper acknowledged for his use of electronics, and Vijay Iyer cited for his role in Duo of the Year -- his duet partner being trumpeter Wadada Leo Smith, recipient of the Musician of the Year Award.

In addition, two pianists won JJA awards for their work in media: Ted Gioia, recipient of the JJA’s Award for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism, who played jazz piano, taught and helped set up the jazz program at Stanford University, has composed piano works as well as written ten non-fiction books on jazz and served as editorial director of Jazz.com. Ethan Iverson of The Bad Plus and diverse musical collaborations gets the Jazz Blog of the Year Award for Do The Math .

See all winners and finalist nominees for the 2017 Jazz Awards at www.JJAJazzAwards.org .

Winners of the Jazz Awards were determined by the two-stage voting of full JJA members -- writers, broadcasters, photographers, videographers and other media professionals engaged in disseminating news and views of jazz.

Besides pianists, women musicians are prominent in this year’s Awards. Composer-arranger Maria Schneider, guitarist Mary Halvorson, multi-reeds player and clarinet specialist Anat Cohen, baritone saxophonist Claire Daly, soprano saxophonist Jane Ira Bloom, flutist Nicole Mitchell and violinist Regina Carter won their respective categories. René Marie won Female Singer of the Year (Gregory Porter won Male Singer of the Year).


Other Awards winners include Composer of the Year Ted Nash, Trumpeter of the Year Brian Lynch, who also won the Record of the Year Award for Madera Latino – A Latin Jazz Perspective on the Music of Woody Shaw (Hollistic MusicWorks), and Krin Gabbard whose Better Git It In Your Soul: An Interpretive Biography of Charles Mingus (University of California Press) won Jazz Book of the Year.


Facebook Twitter MySpace  

Lasa un comentariu: (max. 1800 caractere)

Nume:   Antispam:  

Niciun comentariu!

Articole relative:

Publicat in: 10.12.2018, Ora: 06:17AM
NEW RELEASE. The Jack Mouse Group. Intimate Adversary
NEW RELEASE. The Jack Mouse Group. Int...
Publicat in: 06.12.2018, Ora: 06:10AM
NEW BOOK. A Drummers Story, by Warren Benbow
NEW BOOK. A Drummers Story, by Warren ...
Publicat in: 02.12.2018, Ora: 06:35AM
An American Christmas: With PJ Rasmussen and the Boardwalk Jazz Band
An American Christmas: With PJ Rasmuss...
Publicat in: 30.11.2018, Ora: 06:42AM
EUROPEAN TOUR. Benji Kaplan and Rita Figueiredo
EUROPEAN TOUR. Benji Kaplan and Rita F...
Publicat in: 26.11.2018, Ora: 06:52AM
2018 Jazz Heroes. The Jazz Journalists Association
2018 Jazz Heroes. The Jazz Journalists...
Publicat in: 26.04.2018, Ora: 06:06AM
Randy Weston. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Award
Randy Weston. Lifetime Achievement in ...
Publicat in: 10.06.2015, Ora: 06:53AM
Virgil Mihaiu. Partea 2/2
Virgil Mihaiu. Partea 2/2...
Publicat in: 17.05.2012, Ora: 06:19AM
Membership in the Jazz Journalists Association
Membership in the Jazz Journalists Ass...
Publicat in: 15.05.2012, Ora: 06:44AM
Acasa | Contact | Disclaimer | Blog | RSS Feed • CLICKZOOMBYTES © 2010-2018 • Revista De Muzica Online